.svd file for Unmatched's U74-MC processor?

Hi,

I am a Rust developer looking to work on a bare-metal project on the U74-MC. I’ve not been able to find an .svd file for the processor or .svd files for its U74+S1 cores (the Rust ecosystem uses these to build zero-overhead typesafe bindings to the processor’s peripherals).

Can anyone provide guidance on where I might find .svd file(s) for this processor or its cores?

Thanks in advance,
U007D

1 Like

There are SVD files in our bare metal bsp, freedom-e-sdk, but unfortunately we haven’t done a port of that to Unmatched yet. The focus for Unmatched work has been on Linux support only so far. Meanwhile, the best I can offer are DTS files in u-boot and the linux kernel ports. These are maintained as patches for upstream sources, so you would have to apply the patches and extract the DTS file. See for instance
https://github.com/sifive/meta-sifive/tree/2021.05/recipes-bsp/u-boot/files
https://github.com/sifive/meta-sifive/tree/2021.05/recipes-kernel/linux/files

1 Like

Thanks, @jimw. I’ll see what I can do with the DTS files for now.

Meanwhile, would it be fair to say that .svd support for Unmatched is weeks away or months away (as a rough guess, of course)?

I have no idea when there will be a freedom-e-sdk port.

Thanks, Jim.

I have applied the linux/patches to the latest in linux.git master as of yesterday–a good many of the changes were already there, which was nice to see.

I am assuming I don’t also need to apply the u-boot patches in order to have a usable .svd description of the device, can anyone confirm?

I am using GitHub - sifive/cmsis-svd-generator: Generates CMSIS-SVD xml files from DTS info and Register templates on the resulting .dts file at /arch/riscv/boot/dts/sifive/hifive-unmatched-a00.dts as follows:

./generate_svd.py -d ~/Development/3rd_party/torvalds/linux/arch/riscv/boot/dts/sifive/hifive-unmatched-a00.dts -o ../sifive-unmatched

But am getting an error:

Traceback (most recent call last):