What's the FU540 boot sequence?

I may be overlooking something obvious, but I’m having trouble understanding parts of the boot sequence for the FU540. I have a nicely formatted StackExchange question about it here:

assembly - Not Understanding the FU540Boot Process - Reverse Engineering Stack Exchange

Any insight is appreciated!

Thanks!

Step 2, lw is load word, it is reading from the address 0x1000 not putting 0x1000 in t1. I think the result should be a number between 0 and 15 but I don’t know for sure.

@jimw thank you! that helped clarify some things. I’m new to assembly, so still muddling my way through.

Unfortunately, the math still isn’t working out. I’m close though… according to the docs, MSEL = 0x1111 should cause the device to jump to 0x0001_0000 and my calculations are coming to 0x9988… which isn’t terribly far off, but still miles away.

It is already mentioned in stackexchange, but you have MSEL as hex when it should be binary. So it is 0b1111 or 0xf not 0x1111 as the max value. The code is just loading an address from a table, indexed by the MSEL vlaue.

@jimw thank you again. I updated my answer. I’m now jumping to 0x1178 instead of 0x0001_0000

I’m going to see if I can connect gdb to qemu and see if I can see what’s happening. Any other insight is appreciated, though.

obviously the value at 0x1178 is 0x10000. As I mentioned before, you are reading an address from a table indexed by MSEL, and the figure in the docs tells you what the addresses in the table are.

qemu is a little different. It has neither a physical MSEL switch nor a mask rom. So it just puts the start address directly in the reset vector and avoids the msel indexed table read.
https://gitlab.com/qemu-project/qemu/-/blob/master/hw/riscv/sifive_u.c#L639

@jimw

doh!

What a dumb move on my part.