Trouble getting program uploaded/J-link rules issue

Hello - I’m just getting started with the HiFive1 RevB board, was able to successfully see the welcome banner and have installed both the freedom_e_sdk and Freedom Studio environments. However, I’m getting stuck on the part that discusses the Upload step using make (page 21 of the Getting Started guide for Rev B). This is the error message I keep getting:

Now, if I switch to using Freedom Studio, I can confirm I get a similar issue which is below (no J-Link connection established):

“J-Link GDB Server failed: Could not connect to J-Link. Please check if plugged into USB port or Ethernet switch”

Can anyone share how they got past this? My 99-jlink.rules file is bare minimum (I only put in the line in the getting started guide to get the USB port to correctly recognize the device and see the welcome output message):

SUBSYSTEM=“tty”, ATTRS{idVendor}=“1366”, ATTRS{idProduct} = “1051”, MODE=“664”, GROUP=“plugdev”
LABEL=“jlink_rules_end”

Do I need to add anything further? Thanks for the insights!

When I was getting started with the HiFive, it only supported the Olimex. Are you sure your device is supported?

Thanks, Donnie. It seemed based on the Make sequence that I should be able to upload a simple ‘Hello World’ program on to the board - that is where I’m stuck. I can compile programs but can’t actually get anything accomplished aside from the Welcome banner that the board came with. How was your experience trying to upload a program? Thanks!

Anybody from SiFive can help shed light on this, please? Thanks.

Check the udev rules as described in the Freedom Studio Manual (Help → Open Freedom Studio Manual). There is a section titled “Let’s Check our Dependencies” that might be helpful. Segger will automatically install the udev rules so that Linux will recognize your device, if you install the latest JLink Software.