FreeRTOS

Hello all, We have just finished an initial port of FreeRTOS for the HiFive1 and E31 Coreplex FPGA platforms into Freedom-E-SDK under the FreeRTOS branch. Please be sure to read the readme file first:
https://github.com/sifive/freedom-e-sdk/tree/FreeRTOS/software/FreeRTOSv9.0.0

You can check the FreeRTOS branch issuing
git checkout FreeRTOS
From your freedom-e-sdk directory.

I’m not a FreeRTOS expert, so please let me know if something is missing (very possible) or if you find any bugs (also very possible). On the HiFive1, I’m using the wake button as a button interrupt by jumping Pin 2 to Wake. Memory is very tight, and the demo application uses almost all available. You may find it necessary to increase the minimum stack size in the FreeRTOS config file if things start acting funny.

Please give it a try and let me know how it works for you. We will likely move FreeRTOS out of Freedom-E-SDK and into it’s own repo in the coming weeks which is why we have kept it on a separate branch.

4 Likes

I’ve recently made a few changes to the FreeRTOS context save and restore code. Please be sure to check out the latest on the FreeRTOS branch and let me know if you run into any issues.

I’ve encountered a few times where, after leaving the demo running for a few hours, I’ll find the HiFive1 locked up and my UART session dead. I’ll try and reproduce it under more methodical debug conditions.

EDIT: Nevermind. I think a slightly dodgy USB hub was the culprit. I’ll leave it running overnight just to be sure. :slight_smile:

Thanks Dave, let me know what you find out. I’ll also take a look at a few things on my end and let you know if I find anything. I’m thinking this could be either a timer overflow issue or a stack overflow issue.

Thanks.

I removed the hub and bumped configCHECK_FOR_STACK_OVERFLOW up to 2 then was able to capture it again. It’s triggering a system trap before FreeRTOS’s own stack overflow callback can kick in: