Books on programming for hifive1 revb boards?

I’m just getting started with hifive1 revb boards, in freedom studio, in C, and I was wondering whether there were any books on this? In other words, like Arduino or even the Pico, a book, or books, on getting started with the Freedom E SDK, metal, etc. in C Freedom Studio. Not Rust or any other alternative programming language. I mean, specifically, C, or variants of C, in FS.

Anyone?

I think that everything you need is going to be available from SiFive. I’m not aware of any published books on this matter.

I don’t understand what “in FS” means. Maybe you can explain?

1 Like

FS is presumably Freedom Studio.

1 Like

Hello Jonathan. I am also working on the HiFive1 rev B board for my project. I have some experience in programming multiple Cortex M based MCUs so I got the hang of HiFive1 rev B like after 1 or 2 weeks.

You can start with reading examples on Freedom Studio, if you meet problems, don’t be shy, comes to the forum and ask directly. FE310-G002 is a new chip so everyone is new to using it.

Compared with bare metal programming (directly manipulate device memory), using the E SDK to program is highly recommended in my opinion. It is safer and faster to code and supports all chip features. But in order to use it you should have ideas on the device memory mapping, ROM and RAM difference, etc. some common MCU knowledge. The FE310-G002 Manual v1p0 (prismic.io) should be helpful. Plus it is a RISC-V core, you need to read the RISC-V manual too Volume 2, Privileged Spec v. 20190608.

The document of Freedom E SDK can be found at Freedom Metal — Freedom Metal v20.05.01.00 documentation (sifive.github.io). It is not beginner friendly, you probably need to do some testing there.