Issue uploading code with Jlink: Error while determining flash info (Bank @ 0x20000000)

Hello!

I’ve been developing on the hifive1 revb for several months now and I’ve been successfully writing code and uploading hex format binaries to the board. The forums have been very helpful too!

Starting a couples days ago (April 1?) I setup my environment on a different computer than what I had been using and followed the same steps I had used previously. Everything worked out and I’ve been writing and uploading on my new setup just fine for the past 24 hours or so. However, just today I started to get an error on jlink upload:

Detected: RV32 core
CSR access via abs. commands: No
Temp. halted CPU for NumHWBP detection
HW instruction/data BPs: 0
Support set/clr BPs while running: No
BG memory access support: No
RISC-V identified.
Downloading file [target/riscv32imac-unknown-none-elf/debug/examples/hello_world.hex]...

****** Error: Failed to prepare for programming.
Could not preserve target memory.
Error while determining flash info (Bank @ 0x20000000)
Unspecified error -1
ConfigTargetSettings() start
ConfigTargetSettings() end
TotalIRLen = 5, IRPrint = 0x01
JTAG chain detection found 1 devices:
 #0 Id: 0x20000913, IRLen: 05, Unknown device
Debug architecture:
  RISC-V debug: 0.13
  AddrBits: 7
  DataBits: 32
  IdleClks: 5
Memory access:
  Via system bus: No
  Via ProgBuf: Yes (16 ProgBuf entries)
  Via abstract command (AAM): May be tried as last resort

I’m using Jlink version 7.64 which is from April 1. In fact, when I ran an upload for the first time on my new setup jlink told me I should upgrade the firmware, and so I did. This is the output regarding the versions:

SEGGER J-Link Commander V7.64 (Compiled Apr  1 2022 16:09:33)
DLL version V7.64, compiled Apr  1 2022 16:09:18

Connecting to J-Link via USB...O.K.
Firmware: J-Link OB-K22-SiFive compiled Jul 23 2021 12:54:10
Hardware version: V1.00
S/N: 979015578
VTref=3.300V
Device "FE310" selected.