Is it technically possible to replace a "Custom Accelerator" with an FPGA?

Hello SiFive team,

I’m wondering to know if it is technically possible to replace the a “Custom Accelerator” with something like “eFPGA” (from “Achronix”) and expose it to OS/user?

Regards,
Manili

P.S. What I mean by “Custom Accelerators” is here at the end of page 1.

If someone was a customer of Achronix and wanted to integrate a block from them with a SiFive core that would I think be technically possible, but the work required (and cost) might be considerably more than for a standard “Custom Accelerator”.

For a start, in addition to getting data into and results out of the FPGA part (which might fit into the processor pipeline as a custom ALU instruction, or might be better as memory-mapped registers), you’d need some more memory-mapped registers or other interface for programming the FPGA.

I’m just a simple programmer, but that looks like a major custom project to me. Though nowhere near as big as SiFive designing their own FPGA :slight_smile:

@DrewatSiFive @terpstra

@bruce thanks a lot for the reply.

Well, to be honest there is an idea for awhile in my mind:

Using runtime customizable accelerators.

I’m thinking about an idea to replace “Custom Accelerators” with a reconfigurable FPGA (e.g. eFPGA), store some useful IP Core bitstreams (e.g. DSP, BRAM, Hashing, De/Encryption, Gb Networking and so on …) in storage, and let the compiler/OS decides what kind of accelerator this program needs. So when the application is running by the processor it asks the FPGA part to prepare himself for proper acceleration.
I don’t know if my idea technically possible. But I’m pretty sure that if it’s possible to implement it, the only option is RISC-V and Freedom U500 platform.

I’d be very pleased to know your comments about the idea and it’s possibilities …