Generating core dumps on bare metal RISC-V

What means are currently available to generate and analyze the core dumps of bare metal RISC-V firmware?

(Sorry, as a newbie I can only use 2 web-links in my first post(s))
I work with my-employer-specific fork of minimalistic RISC-V CPU PicoRV32 (github . com/cliffordwolf/picorv32). The Verilog-based bit image of the CPU is flashed to the FPGA connected over JTAG+USB to the personal computer, where I use (again, my-employer-specific fork of) OpenOCD. I use the RISC-V GNU tool-chain (riscv32-unknown-elf-gcc, riscv32-unknown-elf-gdb) to compile and debug the bare metal RISC-V firmware. Works good.
I need to be able to generate and analyze the core dumps of the bare metal RISC-V firmware (see man 5 core or man7 . org/linux/man-pages/man5/core.5.html). E.g. in riscv32-unknown-elf-gdb command prompt I want to enter gcore

(gdb) gcore

and to get the core dump file. Then to analyze that core dump with riscv32-unknown-elf-gdb (search for “core” here - sourceware . org/gdb/current/onlinedocs/gdb/Files.html#index-core-dump-file).
When I do (gdb) gcore, the riscv32-unknown-elf-gdb tells me Can't create a corefile, and most importantly it does not even try, i.e. it does not send any requests to the gdb server (in OpenOCD). This makes me think that riscv32-unknown-elf-gdb cannot generate and cannot analyze the (bare metal) core files. Is such my suspicion correct?

If the riscv32-unknown-elf-gdb still can analyze the (bare metal) core dump files then what means are there available to generate the core files. Are there any C/C++ libraries? Or will I have to implement the generation by myself (e.g. searching for “core” in man 5 elf - man7 . org/linux/man-pages/man5/elf.5.html)?

I also plan to generate the core dump files when the RISC-V firmware does something wrong, e.g. accesses the NULL pointer. My code in OpenOCD will notice that and generate the core dump file.