Build and debug with toolchain

Hello,

I am starting over with the HiFive 1 Rev B. I want to learn Assembly, C and Rust with this board and I want to have it down seriously. But I am a complete noob even when it comes to building a simple “Hello world!” I have already tried Freedom Studio and SEGGER Embedded Studio. Both are fine, but I want to use the toolchain only,

I am using Debian bookworm and these are the steps I have performed.
I have installed SEGGER - The Embedded Experts - Downloads
extracted the toolchain to $HOME/riscv64-unknown-elf-toolchain-10.2.0-2020.12.8-x86_64-linux-ubuntu14/ and added this bin path to $PATH
I could get GitHub - riscv-rust/riscv-rust-quickstart: A template for building Rust applications for HiFive1 boards to run, but i don’t know, how to build and run a simple “Hello world” in C on the device. Any help would be appreciated!

When I execute “riscv64-unknown-elf-gcc -march=rv32imac -mabi=ilp32 main.c” on

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main(void) {
printf(“Hello, world!\n”);
return 0;
}

i get the a.out file. Executing it exec: Failed to execute process: ‘./a.out’ the file could not be run by the operating system.

The debugger is running in another terminal with
JLinkGDBServer -device FE310 -if JTAG -speed 4000 -port 3333 -nogui
and another one has cat < /dev/ttyACM0, which shows the SiFive logo.

How can I get my program to run on the device? Please help.

Hello @jahro_me

The easiest way to run C and Assembly programs is by using SiFive Freedom Studio IDE. This is the recommended way to start with the board development.
Alternatively, you can use Freedom-E-SDK with the command line toolchain.
Please refer to section “7.3 Software Development Using Freedom E SDK Command
Line Tools” in SiFive HiFive1 Rev B Getting Started Guide for more details:
https://www.sifive.com/document-file/hifive1b-getting-started-guide

1 Like