User Mode Stack Memory After Machine Mode Call

Hi all,

I am new in RISC-V architecture and I am trying to understand the behaviour switching between User Mode and the Machine Mode.

I am running Freertos PMP examples on HiFive RevB.
The example creates a thread in user mode and makes a call to Machine Mode, but as I see, after the call, the machine mode continues from the thread stack (as I see from the SP register).

In the arm architecture, the thread and interrupt stacks are separated, so after the system call (machine mode), the Service Call uses its own stack.

Do Machine Mode calls the caller (user mode) stack?
My concern is that we can create a thread with a finite stack size but we may not know the stack depth of the Machine Call, so if the Machine call uses the user mode stack, it may overflow the stack.

I could not find enough information so could you please clarify, how it works or which documents should I read?

Thanks
Murat

The switch between User mode and Machine mode does not touch memory at all.

What you do after that is completely up to you. RISC-V does not mandate anything, it’s up to whatever convention you or the OS you’re using wants to use.

There is a CSR “mscratch” which is available for Machine mode to store any data it wishes.

One typical thing to do is keep the Machine mode stack pointer there, and on entry to a trap handler use a CSR swap instruction to swap SP with mscratch.

It’s definitely best to do something like that if you’re running user code or less trustworthy code in user mode. But many embedded systems that trust the quality of the code being interrupted do just continue on the same stack.

1 Like

Hi Bruce,

Switching (manually) stacks between machine&user mode would help for now.