Learning External interrupts

Hi. I am a complete newbie, please don’t assume I know anything :confused:

To start learning I have signed up for a course on EdX (Microcontroller Applications with RISC-V). Unfortunately the discussion board is no longer active so I am not able to post queries and receive response on the course board.

Using an FE310 (Sparkfun dev board) and FreedomStudio. The course describes the requirements and development of code for simple interrupt drive examples and I have unpacked these in detail and am reasonably comfortable with what “should” happen.

Control is via external switches (push buttons).The first of these turns an LED on (on board LED) using an external interrupt and the second turns it OFF by polling the GPIO. I have metered the voltages on the buttons and can confirm that they do pull the signal low (pull up resistors are enabled so they are normally high).

Running in debug mode the code never reaches the ISR. Any pointers as to what I am missing would be greatly appreciated.

Here is the code:

/******************************************************************************
     Red-V Thing Plus Interrupt_Demo,
     by Eduardo Corpeño

Using the built-in LED and two external buttons to control it.
     One button is handled by polling, and the other by interrupts.

Date: June 20, 2022
     Developed using Freedom Studio v4.18.0.2021-04-1 on Windows 10
     LICENSE: This code is released under the MIT License
     (http://opensource.org/licenses/MIT)
******************************************************************************/

#include <metal/gpio.h> //include GPIO library, https://sifive.github.io/freedom-metal-docs/apiref/gpio.html
#include <stdint.h>
#include <metal/csr.h>	//Control and Status Registers (CSRs)

// Macro Functions

#define  Red_V_enable_output(x)        *((uint32_t *) 0x10012008) |= (1<<(x))
#define  Red_V_set_pin(x)              *((uint32_t *) 0x1001200C) |= (1<<(x))