Multiple HiFive Unmatched Working Together

I am interested in setting up two or more HiFive Unmatched as a 3D graphics render farm, or as a “cluster” of computers to solve computation heavy problems. However, I have no experience with these things. Does anyone see any issues with this idea?

At the moment I am thinking of getting a Dual ITX rackmount case for this.

1 Like

Since you mention ITX I presume you mean HiFive Unmatched.

How do you propose to have them communicate and cooperate?

Imagine a Beowulf cluster of HiFive Unmatched! Beowulf uses ethernet to communicate, so no problems.

It’s not going to be a cheap way to get computation power though, as the cheapest i7 or Zen3 will have 5-10 times the performance of an Unmatched. Or a Raspberry Pi 4 will have a bit more CPU power than the Unmatched, starting at $35.

If you don’t need a lot of RAM per core then you could get a lot of computational power with RISC-V much more cheaply using a few dozen or few hundred $12 MAix BiT boards (8 MB RAM, 2x 400 MHz CPU, and an “AI Engine”). Figuring out communication between boards like that would be interesting, and they obviously can’t run modern Linux but an RTOS is fine.

1 Like

Yes I meant Unmatched… I actually know nothing about this topic but I was always curious aas to how to get it working. After doing some research, I did find that its rather popular to do a Raspberry Pi Cluster. Cheap and lower power consumption. I guess I was just thinking what I would use this machine for in my daily life. So I had the thought that if I had two, they could be like a little render farm tucked in my rack. Not that I am rich, but cost didnt really come to mind. I was just thinking I want to support RISCV even if its not the fastest or even practical. I was thinking of just having them communicate over ethernet.